Several years ago, my mom and I enjoyed a long weekend together in Victoria, British Columbia. While there, we stayed a bed and breakfast on the beach where we were treated with beautiful scenery and delicious breakfasts. One of the breakfast dishes I’ve never forgotten was a fruity puffed pancake. Over the years, I’ve searched for a puffed pancake recipe that “wowed” me like that one did.

Finally, I think I found one.

A couple weeks ago, I found a puffed pancake recipe in Maria Helm Sinskey’s  in Family Meals: Creating Traditions in the Kitchen that looked promising. I had all the ingredients on hand, so I decided to make it up for my son and me. Now I did lighten up the recipe by reducing the butter by a third and using 2% milk rather than whole milk.

This puffed pancake recipe rose beautifully in the oven. And after one bite, I knew this one would be repeated in my home. In fact, I can’t wait for peach season when I can replace the apples with peaches. (Yep, Colorado has some of the best peaches. Big and juicy . . . Oh, I can wait for August. :0).

Puffy Apple Oven Pancake

From Family Meals: Creating Traditions in the Kitchen by Maria Helm Sinskey with modifications to lighten recipe.

  • 2 baking apples (e.g., Fuji, Pink Lady), peeled, cored, and cut into slices
  • ⅔ cup all-purpose flour
  • ½ tsp ground cinnamon
  • 2 TBSP granulated sugar (~I used raw unrefined sugar~)
  • ¼ tsp salt
  • 4 large eggs
  • 1 cup reduced-fat milk (e.g., 2% milk)
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 2 TBSP unsalted butter, melted and cooled, plus 2 more TBSP
  • Powdered sugar for dusting
  • Warmed pure maple syrup to drizzle on pancakes.

Directions:

(1) Preheat oven to 425° F.

(2) In a small bowl, add flour, cinnamon, sugar, and salt. Mix well and set aside.

(3) In a large bowl, beat eggs. Add milk, vanilla, and 2 TBSP melted butter. Mix well together with whisk. Add flour mixture. Blend together just enough to make smooth. Set aside.

(4) In ovenproof 10″ saute pan, melt 1½ TBSP butter over medium-high heat. Add apples and cook until both sides golden brown, about 5 minutes. Add remaining ½ TBSP butter and cook until melted. Pour batter into pan with apples and immediately transfer to oven.

(5) Bake until puffed and golden, 15 to 20 minutes. Dust with powdered sugar. Serve with maple syrup. Makes 6 servings.

