Tags

, , ,

With summer just around the corner, what better way to beat the heat than with popsicles! Better yet, homemade popsicles!

Okay, it’s confession time. Until just recently, I’d never made popsicles at home. It’s always seemed easier to pick them up at the store rather than make them myself. But as I’m moving toward preparing more foods at home, I thought I’d give the homemade popsicles a try.

For my first batch of popsicles, I started with my favorite food—coconut. Have I mentioned I LOVE coconut? :0) Let’s see . . . add coconut milk with some vanilla yogurt in a blender. Okay, that’s a good start. How about some pineapple juice, a splash of pure vanilla extract, fresh tidbits of pineapple and mango, and slices of kiwi? Oh, and I can’t forget the angel flake coconut.

The verdict on my first batch of homemade popsicles: easy and oh-so-YUMMY! Yep, I’ll be making more for my family this summer.

BEEsy Mama Questions: Have you ever made homemade popsicles? What’s your favorite homemade popsicle recipe?

Tropical Delight Ice Pops

  • 1 cup vanilla yogurt
  • ¾ cup canned coconut milk (~I used “lite” milk~)
  • ½ cup pineapple juice
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • ¾ cup mango, chopped
  • ¾ cup pineapple, chopped
  • ¼ cup kiwi, sliced
  • ½ cup shredded coconut

Directions:

To blender, add yogurt, coconut milk, pineapple juice, vanilla, ½ cup mango, and ½ cup pineapple. Blend until smooth. By hand (don’t use blender), stir  the remaining mango and pineapple, kiwi, and coconut into the smoothie mixture.  Pour mixture into ice-pop molds and freeze for at least 8 hours. Makes about 6 pops (3 ounce size).

My little guy enjoying a Tropical Delight Ice Pop. (Yep, he’s once again wearing his Christmas pajamas. I think my boy loves his pajamas as much as I love coconut. :0)

And what do you do with all that leftover pineapple juice? Don’t toss it. You can pour the juice in ice cube trays, freeze, and use later when you make this recipe again or for other recipes. You can also freeze leftover coconut milk (the can says you can do this :0). I poured it in a freezer ziplock bag and plan to use it the next time I make these ice pops.

