Tags

,

Salads are a staple in my home. It’s not unusual for me to serve at least one salad a day with meals. So I’m always on the lookout for ways to jazz up salads.

As I was preparing my menu for this last week, I browsed through a cookbook I haven’t looked at in awhile: Salads by Elsa Petersen-Schepelern. This cookbook, with its gorgeous photos, features an assortment of gourmet salads like Tuscan Panzanella, Italian Grilled Pepper Salad, and Thai Mango Beef Salad. While I’d love to try out some of these salad (and I’m sure I will in the weeks ahead), what piqued my interest were the recipes for homemade dressings.

One that stood out was a recipe for Thousand Island Dressing. Of course, when I saw this recipe, I instantly craved a Reuben sandwich. So this last weekend, I whipped up a batch of this dressing and drizzled some on Turkey Reuben Sandwiches.

Oh, I forgot how much I like this creamy dressing, especially the homemade version. The veggies in the dressing add a delightful fresh crunch. And this dressing served as flavorful condiment on the Reubens and complimented a green salad I made for a birthday dinner I hosted this weekend. This is a recipe I’ll be making again. :0)

Thousand Island Dressing

From Salads by Elsa Petersen-Scheperlern with slight modifications

  • ¾ cup good-quality mayonnaise
  • ¼ cup low-fat plain yogurt
  • 3 TBSP chile sauce
  • ½ green bell pepper finely chopped
  • ½ red bell pepper, finely chopped
  • 1 tsp onion, finely chopped

A few notes about modifications made . . . The original recipe called for a homemade mayonnaise (the recipe is included in the cookbook). I decided to purchase a good-quality mayo and use it instead. Also, the recipe called for roasted red bell peppers. I didn’t have an jarred roasted bell peppers on hand and didn’t have time to roast fresh ones in the oven, so I opted to finely chop the fresh ones.

Directions:

Mix mayonnaise, yogurt, and chile sauce in a bowl. Add bell peppers and onion and mix well.  Serve immediately or refrigerate and use within 3 days. Makes about 2 cups.

