Tags

, ,

Between hosting a birthday dinner at my house on Sunday and a commitment to deliver 16 servings of dessert for a teacher appreciation lunch at my son’s school this Monday morning, I spent a good portion of the weekend in the kitchen cooking and baking.

Oh, but it was perfect weekend to hang out in the kitchen with overcast skies and occasional rain showers—a rare delight here in Colorado. And despite a few minor accidents in the kitchen (a couple of band-aids on my fingers vouch that I haven’t yet mastered removing fresh coconut from its shell), my weekend cooking marathon was a success.

Among the recipes prepared, I made up a batch of turkey meatballs. I used a recipe my mom gave me years ago for the beef meatballs she made during my childhood. Ah, these moist and flavorful meatballs worked beautifully in the spaghetti and meatballs dish I served at the birthday dinner. They were a hit with my little guy.

These meatballs can be added to your favorite marinara sauce and served with spaghetti (as our family did this last weekend) or on hoagie rolls for meatball sandwiches. Enjoy! :0)

Turkey Meatballs

  • 20 oz. package of 93% lean ground turkey
  • 1 cup breadcrumbs
  • ¼ cup grated Parmesan
  • 2 tsp dried oregano
  • ½ tsp onion powder
  • ¼ tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • ½ cup finely chopped onion
  • ½ cup milk
  • 2 eggs, beaten

Directions:

(1) Preheat oven to 350° F. Line cookie sheet with parchment paper or spray with cooking spray.

(2) In a large bowl, add all ingredients. Mix together with a wooden spoon until well blended. Shape turkey mixture into desired-size balls and place on prepared cookie sheet.

(4) Bake meatballs in oven for about 25 minutes, or until completely cooked through. Be careful to not overcook, which will result in dry meatballs. Makes approximately 22 medium-sized meatballs.

