Tags

, , , ,

Need a quick, affordable, healthy, and kid-friendly meal for a weekday night? If so, I’d love to share with you a sweet-flavored vegetarian tostada ~ Honey & Balsamic Corn Tostadas. This recipe is a variation of Corn Quesadillas in The Toddler Cookbook by Annabel Karmel.

I’ve made the quesadillas a few times, but this last time, I decided to make tostadas instead, mostly because I didn’t have any flour tortillas in my pantry and I’ve been experimenting with different tostada variations lately.  I also used a peach-mango salsa instead of a traditional tomato salsa, which sweetened this dish even more.

My family enjoyed this dish, and it’s one I’ll be adding to my weeknight menus more often. :0)

Honey & Balsamic Corn Tostadas

I converted Annabel Karmel’s Corn Quesadillas (found in The Toddler Cookbook) into tostadas and made some modifications to the original recipe.

6 corn tortillas

1 TBSP olive oil plus more to brush on corn tortillas

1 medium red or orange bell pepper, diced

1 small red onion, diced

1 ¾ cup frozen corn

1 ½ TBSP honey

1 ½ TBSP balsamic vinegar

½ cup peach or mango salsa

½ cup Monterrey Jack or Queso Cheese

Sour cream or plain yogurt for garnish

Directions:

(1) To Bake Tostadas: Preheat oven to 450° F. Lightly brush both sides of the corn tortillas with olive oil. Place on a cookie sheet and bake in the oven for 5 to 7 minutes, or until light golden brown and crisp. Watch the tortillas carefully as they can easily burn at this high temperature.

(2) To Make Corn Mixture: Heat 1 TBSP oil in skillet over medium-high heat. Add bell peppers and onions and stir fry for about 3 minutes. Add corn to skillet and cook for another 3 minutes, until corn is cook through and peppers and onions are softened. Add honey and balsamic vinegar. Cook another minute then remove from heat.

(3) To Assemble Tostadas: Spread a layer of salsa on each tostada. Top with about 1/4 cup of the corn mixture. Sprinkle about 1 ½ TBSP cheese on the corn mixture. Top with a dollop of sour cream or plain yogurt. Makes 6 tostadas.

