Tags

, , ,

Creativity at lunchtime . . . Ah, not always my forte. The norm at my home: ham and cheese sandwich or PB&J for my little guy and a salad with grilled chicken for my hubby and me.

So it’s time to jump outside the box and try some new lunchtime recipes. For lunch today, my hubby and I will be indulging on a new creation from my kitchen ~ Cranberry Bread Paninis with Turkey, Apples, & Goat Cheese. This sweet-flavored pressed sandwich will surely delight your taste buds. I hope you enjoy! :0)

Cranberry Bread Panini with Turkey, Apples, & Goat Cheese

Main Ingredients for Paninis

4 slices of cranberry bread (*see note below)

2 oz. goat cheese (If you can find it, try a fruit flavored goat cheese. I used a fig goat cheese, which adds a sweet touch to the panini.)

4 oz. thinly sliced deli turkey

1 small apple, cored and thinly sliced

Butter

* Note: I used two Cranberry Orange Morning Rounds from Ozery Bakery, Inc. for the bread. I found these rounds at a natural grocery store (Vitamin Cottage). As a substitute, you can use four slices of cranberry bread. I’ve found variations of this bread at bakeries and in the bakery section of my local grocery store.

Directions:

(1) For each sandwich: Lightly butter one side of each slice of cranberry bread. Spread 1 oz. of goat cheese on the other side of each bread slice. Arrange 2 oz. of turkey on the goat cheese on one slice of bread. Arrange a layer of apples on the turkey. With the other slice of bread, place the goat cheese side on top of the apples.

(2) Cook each sandwich on a panini press or in a skillet until golden brown and cheese is melted. If using a skillet, flip the sandwiches, press them, and cook until other side is done. Makes 2 sandwiches.

